Showing posts with label Czech Attractions. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Czech Attractions. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Dvorakovy Sady

At the end of the 19th century, artistic gardener Jan Hahmann, who had been taking care of Skalník Park until then, finally brought into being his grandiose plan to create a new municipal park. Between 1877 and 1878, he initiated the planting of plane,  oak, maple and elm trees behind the Army Spa Institution on the grounds of the former Winter's Garden. The park was complemented with sandy paths, pyramids of rose bushes, flower beds and a water recess with a fountain. Between 1880 and 1881, a cast-iron concert and restaurant hall known as the Blanenský Pavilion was built according to the design of Viennese architects Fellner and Helmer. In 1966, the restaurant was pulled down because of its poor technical condition, leaving only a part of the promenade, the present-day Park Colonnade. In 1974, the park on the edge of the spa zone between the Thermal Hotel and the Park Colonnade was redesigned by architect Adolf Peter and named Dvořákovy sady (Dvořák Park) in honour of the famous Czech composer . A monument dedicated to Antonín Dvořák by local sculptor Karel Kuneš was erected in the park. You may also admire two monument trees growing on the park grounds. The Park Plane Tree with 452 cm trunk circumference and height of about 23 metres has been growing here for almost 200 years and Dvořák's Plane Tree with 472 cm trunk circumference and height of about 22 metres has been growing here for more than 200 years.

Museum Jáchymov

The former Royal Mint is located on the square over the town hall of famous mining town and it was built with the pomp proportional to its importance. The two-storey house from Renaissance age has a tower-type bay window, great hall and rectangular courtyard. The house was built through the years 1534-1536. Present state of the building is the result of several reconstructions. The core of the house as well as several window flannings, portal jambs, rare chimney hook or large basement remained preserved to these days. The artistically most valuable part is the prismatic bay window with the haunch reinforced with groins. There is a year 1536 signed in the middle of its window flanning. Mining shields around the sign of the year are modern. The building served as the Royal Mint till the beginning of 17th century. The forefront and the adaptation of the portal are baroque. The mining and metallurgic administration of Jáchymov resided here since 19th century. The museum has resided here since 1964, the reconstruction of the whole building took place through the end of 80´s and the beginning of 90´s. Present state is the result of this extensive reconstruction. The Royal Mint belongs to the first category monuments.